simulate keydown 'space' with pointerdown

Hi,

as a teacher I wanted to create an Among-Us-like-Game where my students have to do tasks to save a computer but there is a virus who deactivates them. My special idea: I can upload my own tasks with a JSON Document, so they have to do some maths e.g. to win the game.

Now everything works fine with a keyboard but many of my student just have smartphones and I’m struggeling with implementing mobile controls. The movement works by clicking on the edges of the screen. But I can’t implement a touch-zone which imitates clicking the spacebar.

All I want to do is adding a zone in the bottom right corner that triggers cursors.space.isDown. So there should be no difference if you hit the spacebar or click in the bottom right corner to start the taskScene, deactivate a player etc. Reminder: All that works already with onOverlap and the spacebar.

I would be so happy about some suggestions? I did all the hard work with many many tutorials and online threads but can’t find a solution for this easy sounding problem

Best Regards!

1 Like

Hi @Vikthorin,

First of all great idea to create a game for your students. I really do appreciate that :clap:

My idea here is that you can seperate the logic from update function to another function and when cursors.space.isDown call the function.

Also in mobile or smartphones just create the clickable area to right bottom and call the same function when it’s pressed.

I had lot’s of these kind of situations at my work and would like to help.

Please do share some of your logic here so we can seperate it together or just let us know if you can figure it out :muscle:

1 Like

:wave:

Yes, you don’t need to simulate a keydown, you just need to take the same action for two different input events.

You can use an input zone (invisible button).

First of all I really want to thank yor for your fast answers! That and your offer to help is incredible kind.