How to efficiently deal with enemies AI?

Hello all.

I’m new to gamedev, but I’m a javascript developer for many years. So I’m trying my luck with Phaser while making some games, but many times I question myself if what I’m doing is the correct way of doing it or not.

For example, I have a patrol logic where an enemy is on a platform and moves back and forth, the logic is pretty basic, just checks for a “floor” tile in front of it, if there’s one, then continue moving, otherwise change direction. The thing it, doing this every frame is very costly and it doesnt make much sense too. I’m considering pre-calculating all enemies routes in the create function, and then make the enemies movements “static” and save a lot of per-frame-processing power.

How do you guys deal with it?

Thank you

Hi,
There’s many way to do it:
If your enemy has an animation, you can listen to enemy.on(‘animationcomplete’, () => check if tile, it’s a bit better than every frame
Or you can use an invisible layer that collides with enemies.
Your solution seems good too, perhaps a bit more complex to implement.

1 Like

That sounds like a good idea.

Many AI updates can be scheduled to run less often than every game tick. And they can be staggered so that each tick updates only a few of them.

1 Like

I would tend to go the route where you create the paths yourself. Not only does it make the AI much quicker and more efficient, but it also drastically opens up your design space as well. Enemies can patrol in patterns that aren’t dependent on the length of the ledge, flying enemies can patrol without relying on platforms, etc.