How to use the Phaser newdocs?

Hi!
I’m reading and experimenting more and more with some Phaser features, but I often find myself to need to check the docs at newdocs.phaser.io because as it happens I’m still learning.

However consulting the docs is really a huge pain most of the time, because I really do not understand how the Phaser docs work.

For example if I paste a property in the searchbar of the docs page I would expect to find a page that describes how that property/method/object works (like MDN for example).

However when I do I just find a dropdown menu with results that I think are not related to what I am looking for.

Let’s say I want to read more about the line code this.add.group() that I’ve just seen using somewhere and I don’t know what it does.

case: "searching for .add"

case: "searching for .group()"

case: "searching for .group"

Now I honestly wouldn’t know what to pick.

Documentation should be user-friendly and easy to use. Phaser is a JS framework for making web games, not quantum physics to open trans-dimensional portals, but still I find it hard and energy draining just the same. :slight_smile:

Any reply will be very much appreciated. :slight_smile:

You may want to try API Chains in Phaser Help Center as it can identify expressions like this.add.group().

In newdocs you may want to bookmark Scenes and start there. Searching is tricky because you have to know a little about the API. But if you search add you can find Phaser.Scene#add (Members) and if you search group you can find Phaser.GameObjects.GameObjectFactory#group, maybe.

Also, if you can set up autocomplete/Intellisense in your editor it will help a lot.

2 Likes

Hi @samme
Thank you, I’ll check that site out.

In newdocs you may want to bookmark Scenes and start there.

I spent the last 12 hours reading the docs trying to figure how they work and eventually I kind of came up with a similar strategy.

I’ll write a couple of posts as replies, for future reference.

Cheers,