Know what body overlaps what other body

Hi,

i’m new to Phaser and currently stuck.
In arcade physics, I have a body (block) and a group of bodies (players).
I need to know, who of the players currently overlaps with block.

I tried adding overlap() with a callback but this fires continoulsy.
For me block.body.touching and player[x].body.touching never hold any content.
I attempted to set something like player[x].overlapsWithBlock to null at the end of the update() method and then populate this in the callback but it seems the callback does not run on every frame. Sometimes, a player currently overlapping still has null in the variable for one frame. Then it works for like 80 frames.

Whats the recommended way to do this?

1 Like

The callbacks you pass to overlaps and colliders will be called once on every frame (this is actually not necessarily the case, but you can assume it is for now) the Game Objects touch and will be passed the two Game Objects as arguments. This is the intended way to handle this.

When you say your callback “fires continuously”, do you mean that you just want to run some code once when the objects first touch? I’m not aware of a universal way to achieve this, so it’d be good if you showed the code which doesn’t work.

Hi,

i prepared a little fiddle to demonstrate
https://jsfiddle.net/mhu42s7n/1/

Of that “area” in my example i will have multiple later on.
I need to know which of those the player is currently touching at any given point.

The code works but you can see “TOUCHES” flicker to “DOES NOT TOUCH” randomly, while the objects overlay.

It seems the callback is actually not being called on every frame.
Any hint to solve this?