Matter and TypeScript

I’m hoping someone can help me out here - I’m an experienced C++ game developer, but new to web development, JavaScript, Phaser, TypeScript, etc…

TypeScript will transpile this code with no problems:

let sprite:Phaser.Physics.Matter.Sprite = this.matter.add.sprite(200, 50, 'image');
let speed:number = MatterJS.Vector.magnitude(sprite.body.velocity);
console.log(speed);

But when run it I get this error:
Uncaught ReferenceError: MatterJS is not defined

So TypeScript knows what MatterJS is, but JavaScript doesn’t.

Is this a configuration issue on my end? Something to do with how Phaser integrates with Matter?

From what I have been able to figure out, JavaScript wants to see something like this:
Phaser.Physics.Matter.Matter.Vector.magnitude
rather than
MatterJS.Vector.magnitude

This is just one example of the problem, I had the exact same issue when trying to use MatterJS.Vertices.centre… So I imagine the problem is going to keep coming up.

I have some really vague notions of what could be going on, but I don’t understand enough about how all these technologies work to figure out more than that right now. Would appreciate some advice… Maybe this TypeScript code snipped works fine for others and I have just configured my project incorrectly. I’m using VSCode and webpack. Thank you!

That’s a Phaser bug, should be fixed since v3.22.0.

I’m using the latest stable Phaser 3.24.1.
I guess the bug you’re referring to this issue:

Seems like it might be related to my issue. If I understood how namespaces worked between JavaScript and TypeScript, maybe I could figure it out. If I move everything from matter.d.ts into phaser.d.ts under Phaser.Physics.Matter.Matter - I think I could get it to work - but obviously I shouldn’t have to do that.

Leaving TypeScript out of it for the moment…

This code works in JavaScript:

var velocity = Phaser.Physics.Matter.Matter.Vector.create(4,4);
var speed = Phaser.Physics.Matter.Matter.Vector.magnitude(velocity);