Negative Coordinates on Tile Map

Hi All,

I am new to Phaser 3 and I was just seeking some help, I have build a map in Tiled and I would like the middle of the map to be 0,0 (x,y) when I use it in phaser. Does anyone know what I have to do to accomplish this?

I tried offsetting the map but everything I do doesn’t seem to work!

Thanks,
Shane

:wave:

const CX = 0.5 * map.widthInPixels;
const CY = 0.5 * map.heightInPixels;

map.createLayer(layerID, tileset, -CX, -CY);

this.cameras.main.centerOn(0, 0);

Hi @samme Thanks for the response! I did try something similar to this but it didn’t work, the coords of each tile stayed the same but the map moved.

I just tried your code too and the issue remains the same.

Anything else I might be missing?

The tile coordinates don’t change. They refer to the map data itself, not the position of the tilemap layer in the game world.

Okay I understand that, so how do I change the tile coordinates? I tried doing an offset of the map inside the Tiled program, which then in the Json file it spat out I saw negative coords as the starting point.

I think you can set a negative offset for a tile layer in Tiled. But an offset doesn’t change the tile coordinates.

Can I ask what you’re trying to achieve, or why you need negative tile coordinates?

Ahh yes thats what I have been trying but I thought it would change the coordinate tiles.

Yes of course, I am trying to make a map, and on my map there is a central location in the middle of a 256x256 map, and I was the center to be 0,0 not 128, 128, does this make sense?

In Phaser you can convert to and from world/tile coordinates pretty easily, so the range of the tile coordinates is usually not that important. The right offset will put world coordinates (0, 0) at the center of the map.

If you still need negative tile coordinates for some purpose, you can just convert by subtracting half the map dimensions in tiles.