Phaser3 + ES6 classes : how to keep the scope from create to update

I’m a beginner in Phaser 3 dev and I’m trying to define a good pattern for all my games. I found a lot of excellent one-page tutorials but when I translate them in the ES6 classes system, I’m having a hard time with scope issue (elements defined in create() aren’t visible in update).

I’ve seen that one common pattern without ES6 classes is to add the methods in the scene property of the game config object like this :

scene: {
    preload: preload,
    create: create,
    update : update
}

Now here’s my question. If I have this code :

window.onload = function() {
    const config = {
        width: 1136,
        height: 640,
        backgroundColor: "#ECF0F1",
        scene: bootGame
    }
    jeu = new Phaser.Game(config);

class bootGame extends Phaser.Scene{
        constructor(){
            super("BootGame");
        }
        preload(){}
        create(){    
            let cursors = this.input.keyboard.createCursorKeys();
        }
        update(){
            if (cursors.left.isDown){// cursors not defined}
        }
     }

What should I write to get “cursors” to be defined in update() ?

Many thanks for your help!

I think you could create Cursors as :
-a global variable
-a member of bootGame that you declare in constructor

1 Like
class bootGame extends Phaser.Scene{
        cursors
        constructor(){
            super("BootGame");
        }
        preload(){}
        create(){    
            this.cursors = this.input.keyboard.createCursorKeys();
        }
        update(){
            if (this.cursors.left.isDown){ }
        }
     }
1 Like

Great! Many thanks for your help.
My code works without the “cursors” declaration in the class though (looks like adding “this” everywhere fixes the issue).

the best way to understand the keyword this is that it is a reference to the current object of the class.