Sprite Outline via Shader - showcase & looking for improvements

Hey guys,

I am looking into outlining sprites using a shader - I am not an expert on shaders at all.
I looked around a bit (googlefu) but did not find any already existing solution.

This is what I got so far:

solid color:
mouseover1

alpha color:
mouseover2

slightly more complex shape:
mouseover3

Here is the shader code:

class OutlinePipeline extends Phaser.Renderer.WebGL.Pipelines.TextureTintPipeline {
    constructor(game: Phaser.Game) {
        let config = {game: game,
            renderer: game.renderer,
            fragShader: `
            precision mediump float;
            uniform sampler2D uMainSampler;
            varying vec2 outTexCoord;
            void main(void) {
                vec4 color = texture2D(uMainSampler, outTexCoord);
                vec4 colorU = texture2D(uMainSampler, vec2(outTexCoord.x, outTexCoord.y - 0.001));
                vec4 colorD = texture2D(uMainSampler, vec2(outTexCoord.x, outTexCoord.y + 0.001));
                vec4 colorL = texture2D(uMainSampler, vec2(outTexCoord.x + 0.001, outTexCoord.y));
                vec4 colorR = texture2D(uMainSampler, vec2(outTexCoord.x - 0.001, outTexCoord.y));

gl_FragColor = color;

if (color.a == 0.0 && (colorU.a != 0.0 || colorD.a != 0.0 || colorL.a != 0.0 || colorR.a != 0.0)  ) {
                    gl_FragColor = vec4(1.0, 0.0, 0.0, .2);
                }
            }`};
        super(config);
    }

}

To get this to run:

in create:

(<Phaser.Renderer.WebGL.WebGLRenderer>this.game.renderer).addPipeline('outline', new OutlinePipeline(this.game));

And to activate / deactivate it on a sprite:

this.sprite.setPipeline("outline");

this.sprite.resetPipeline();

And here are the problems I am looking for input on :slight_smile:

1. “0.001” is a magic value that works for texture lookup on 1024 x 1024 textures.
    Found it just by trying - there should be a way to get the texture size and calculate this value.