Cannot setText after first run through of the game/switching scenes

I am new to Phaser (just started learning it this weekend) and just started following tutorials/playing around with it and I hit a bug that is puzzling me. I’m hoping someone here can enlighten me on what is going wrong?

So the first run through of the game works totally fine but when the game ends and I try to play again, I hit an error when I try to execute setText() to update the score on the screen:

Uncaught TypeError: s is null
    setSize http://localhost/js/phaser.min.js:1
    updateText http://localhost/js/phaser.min.js:1
    setText http://localhost/js/phaser.min.js:1

So when the game ends, I exit my game scene by simply calling the game over scene with this.scene.start(). Then, I re-enter my game scene by calling this.scene.start() from the game over scene, and again, this re-entry is when I am unable to update the score anymore.

I instantiate the scoreboard object (which ultimately will update the text) in my main game scene and use EventEmitters to detect when to update the score. All of that code leading up to calling setText() seems to work fine. But something goes wrong when setText() is called. I have confirmed that my setText() inputs are valid (not null).

I looked through the Phaser code on Github and I see that setText() calls updateText(), which then calls setSize() for the frame. The error I am seeing is occurring on line 376 in setSize(): phaser/Frame.js at 5c8ecbcf999e6f328d21884e877c9e5935d2d350 · photonstorm/phaser · GitHub

Does anyone know why this.data on line 375 would be null and how to fix this?

Also it seems like if I destroy the game and re instantiate new Phaser.Game after the game ends, this error does not occur. I am assuming this method is not good practice though and we shouldn’t have to destroy and re-instantiate Phaser.Game after each game run?

:wave:

You probably need to remove the event listener when stopping the scene.

Hi, thanks for the reply!