How to use plugins? (Board plugin by Rex)

I’m a beginner and I only started looking into Phaser3 a couple of days ago. I’d like to make a simple game, which must have a checker board. I was surprised to find out there’s no native checker board object in Phaser (I mean, it’s not uncommon for a 2D game to use a checker board…is it?!). Or maybe I just missed it in the documentation; in that case, just link the docs here, please.

After some research I found this external plugin: https://rexrainbow.github.io/phaser3-rex-notes/docs/site/board/#add-board-object
I don’t know if it’s the type of board I need, but I hope so.

The only problem is that it doesn’t explain how I am supposed to use this plugin. Do I have to install some NPM package? What’s the name of the package?! Do I have to download the source code? From where? I’ve tried a bunch of things, but I honestly have no idea what else to do.

I also cloned the git repository of that plugin, and then inserted this line in my code:
import BoardPlugin from ‘./cloned-repository/plugins/board-plugin.js’;

But it’s still not working.
Chrome says: “Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (File not found) [http://localhost:9090/cloned-repository/plugins/board/chess/IsUID]”

Firefox says: “Loading module from “http://localhost:9090/cloned-repository/plugins/board/chess/IsUID” was blocked because of a disallowed MIME type (“application/octet-stream”).”

I’m not sure if you ever got a response, or a solution, but I’m in the same boat right now. I want to make it a bit easier on myself, but I am having a hell of a time trying to get his plugins working. I am just making my own hexmap class right now.

Same here…

Here is a demo of using rexBoard plugin.
To use rexBoard plugin in your project, try these steps:

1. Get minify source code from here, or here
  2. Import rexBoard:
    • If you don’t use webpack, try include this minify rexBoard file by <script> tag, like that demo does.