I created an Asteroids clone with chatGPT

I was reading some articles about people creating simple games with ChatGPT so I wanted to give it a try.

I have no game programming experience and the most I have is some high level understanding of functions and a general understanding of code syntax. I couldnt write code form scratch but I can fiddle with code to tweak it a little.

First I had ChatGPT recommend a mobile game where you randomly appearing dots on the screen without clicking a blank area or missing a dot before it disappeared. I was able to get ChatGPT to walk me through setitng up Android Studio and in about 30 mins I had a very simple working game based on some of my criteria loaded on my phone. I got as far as adding some sound, 3 difficulty levels, and game over/restart screens. I hit a wall when the code got too long for ChatGPT to ingest and when I tried breaking it up, it quickly forgot what we were doing and started just throwing darts at fixing errors. I gave up.

Then I decided to try an old school arcade game and thought Asteroids was simple enough.
I told the AI I wanted it to be an HTML game and it recommended Phaser 3 game library and the matter.js physics engine. I had it walk me through setting up python on my Mac and getting the dev server running. I tried having it attack the entire thing based on a full description of the game but it was quickly overwhelmed and started choking on fixing errors though it mostly worked.

The next day I started over and decided to let it describe what functions were needed to build the game baed on my description.

I had it create the skeleton of the main JS file and we started building out each of the functions.
I think I got pretty far over the course of a few hours knowing NOTHING about HTML 5 game development.

You can see how far I got here…

CHAT GPT ASTEROIDS CLONE

Left/Right Keys - rotate ship
Up Key - thrust
Z - Fire

When game is over you have to refresh to play again.