Tilemap with multiple layers using 2D arrays

Hello, I’m new to Phaser, still trying to figure out the fundamentals of Tilemaps.

One thing I can’t figure out despite hours of research and trial and errors, is to create a tilemap containing multiple data layers, created from arrays.

Consider the following arrays (reduced size for the sake of the discussion):

const data1 = [
  [1, 1, 1, 1],
  [1, 0, 0, 1],
  [1, 0, 0, 1],
  [1, 1, 1, 1],
];

const data2 = [
  [0, 0, 0, 0],
  [0, 0, 2, 0],
  [0, 0, 2, 0],
  [0, 0, 0, 0],
];

Consider that these will be procedurally generated, so using Tiled is out of the question.

How would I go about and create a single tilemap object that contain 2 layers, each with a different data array?

Importing from Tiled allows for multiple layers so I’m pretty sure it is possible to do it in a more dynamic way, only exemples seem to be non-existent. So far the exemples I’ve seen only provide one array at initialization:

scene.make.tilemap({
  data: [...],
  tileWidth:32,
  tileHeight:32,
});

This effectively creates one layer with the provided data.

At this point, I’ll probably create as many tilemaps as I have data arrays, and visually align them to get the same effect. However it feels like that would not be the best approach, given the capabilities of Tilemaps.

Thank you.

This amazing procedural tilemap tutorial may help out. It uses a library called Dungeon.js to generate the dungeons it is using but I think you can still learn quite a bit from it. It appears that there are other ways of making tilemaps that don’t require you to pass in a single array into the data attribute. From there you should be able to make the layers separately.