What are Phaser 3 bad/best practices?

I’m new to Phaser, but old time javascript developer. The whole concept of game dev is also new to me.

I’d like to know which are the most basic bad/best practices when writting code with Phaser 3, like always use data manager instead of class attributes or stuff like that?

I’m pretty much coding and coming up with my own set of rules, but it would be nice to know whats the market default, or something like that.

Is there a documentation for it, or maybe could some of you guys write it down in here? Then maybe we can gather enough of those and make a wiki page or even eslint rules.

Thanks!

2 Likes

I guess there is no default. You can write Phaser games in multiple ways.

In my opinion, to write good JavaScript code you should use TypeScript.

1 Like

I also have no idea, but just for the sake of discussion here’s my list of best practices that I try to follow. For reference, this is the repo where I’m coming up with and following these rules: https://github.com/snowbillr/archer-adventure

Some of these are probably more useful as games get more complex. For simple games, it might not be worth it to take all of these rules as absolute.

Typescript > Javascript

This isn’t really a Phaser rule, but for any kind of development that involves lots of files and data structures being passed across them, this helps immensely.

Use a file for constants

Phaser is very string key based for loading and using assets, as well as scenes. I find that its easy to make typos with these keys and not have a good clue why things aren’t working. For example, I have a constants file for my scene keys so I don’t need to worry about making typos.

Extend Phaser.Scene for each scene

One file per Scene

Have a TestScene to try out new things before slotting them into your real scene