WIP: RPG-template, phaser typescript rollup

Hi all! I’m Dani, a new member of this awesome community since few days ago. I’m a frontend developer with experience in JavaScript developing a lot of websites and applications for last 10 years, but I never developed a game. One month ago I started to deep dive in JavaScript game development, and phaser3 was the most interesting framework for me.

TLTR. I’m creating a template to develop rpg with phaser3, typescript and rollup. Here’s the link.

I decided to start with something interesting avoiding ‘hello world tutorials’, so a classical RPG wit 16x16 arts and grid system movements was my choice. It was hard, I don’t recommend this way to beginners, no matter your development experience. A lot of questions delayed my development, how to switch scenes? How to move the player tile by tile? How to create maps with pokemon style? How to create sprites for animations?…

Now I’m developing the game, I spend one month learning, choosing libraries, comparing assets… and 80% of my time configuring the game and putting tools to work together. At the beginning I was struggling looking for a template, reading a lot of code, and I would like to save time to beginners with this template offering a boilerplate with some key resources like tutorials, youtube vídeos, and a well structured and commented code.

There are still few things to do, develop a dialog system (or implement a plugin for that, suggestions accepted), change tiles png by others royalty free (I used one from LimeZu that I purchased), implement quest plugin by @rexrainbow (which is giving me some problems due to rollup issues with Papaparse, but I’ll hit that wall few days more before open an other post), and good documents to explain how to develop a game using this template.

I tried to use the best practices that I learned as a developer, but honestly don’t know if them applies for game-development although seems to fit well.