Endless isometric world

Hello !

I have a question about working with isometric maps in Phaser. I need to implement infinite scrolling of the map, so that when the end is reached, it starts from the beginning. I was able to find examples for 2D maps, but they don’t work for 2.5D. I would appreciate any help.

Hi. What happened when you tried to adapt that example?

Since I have little experience with Phaser, I may be wrong. But it seems to me that this does not work because with an isometric map, the map is not rectangular but a rhombus

I tried to move it here

I see what you mean, yes. For the map it might still work if you have the camera views overlap. But that wouldn’t work well for the sprites.

The only other way would be to modify the tile map layer renderer, I think.

Yes, I was also thinking that it wouldn’t work for the sprites. Could you please advise on how to modify the tile map layer renderer?

I was just thinking, about this question. And came to this wild idea, disclaimer I didn’t test it yet(because I’m on my phone), but maybe you could create 4x tilemaps/layer(s) and offet them so that they align, and teleport the player and other stuff. if this quadruple amount of data/objects does kill the performance, this might be a “easy” workaround.

There are two rendering methods in the Phaser source. You would have to wrap the tile coordinates somehow.

I’ve spent a significant amount of time studying how Phaser renders tilemaps and have come to realize that accomplishing this task well is practically impossible. Unfortunately, all the methods I’ve attempted have had a significant negative impact on performance.

Thanks for your idea. To be honest, I didn’t quite understand how to implement it. I tried to redraw the tile map depending on the camera position

Here is a short demo showcasing what I meant, base on this official phaser demo.

I hope this make my “idea” abit more clear, even though the map of the demo is no designed to be wrapped around.