Is Phaser a fitting choice for my "create a character" game?

Hello,

I desperately need help with the question which framework or game engine fits my project. Phaser looks promising, so I hope it is okay to ask this here. :slight_smile:

It’s about my Flash website https://www.sp-studio.de/ I run since 2002 as a hobby. Right now I am preparing a “non Flash remake” because Flash will not be supported anymore after December 31st. The problem is… I am no developer (I just know HTML, CSS and a tiny bit of ActionScript). There are so many engines and frameworks that I am not sure which would be a fitting choice. And I cannot search for a developer to help me before I know what I need. The first suggestion I got was Angular. Other were React, Unity and Phaser. Of course I started reading about them, but if you don’t now anything about all of this coding topic it is very difficult to decide.

The main details about my project are:

• It’s a basic browser game. You just combine 2D items from multiple categories to create a cartoon character. Then you save the picture. No animation, no sound, but a ton of image files. There are some functions to recolor, move or flip items. Most of them can be seen in the current Flash version, but I’ll upload a concept for the new look as well.
  • A good support of vector files is most important because I need the option to easily change colors for a specific part of an image. I already converted my old Flash files to svg files. Is it possible with Phaser to refer to symbol IDS in svg files?
  • It should be possible to export the picture you created as a .jpg or .png file. I guess this works like a screenshot function.
  • It should scale with the screen size (with breakpoints or responsive). This was a problem with Angular, so I wonder if it is easier with Phaser? While the UI scaled nicely the canvas with the svg items could not do this because they would not keep their positions.