How to port an existing game to mobile?

Hey everybody,

I’m a college student who had to teach himself how to use Phaser for a project, as well as Javascript since I had no experience with either technique.
It went rather well and I have a rather decent space invaders clone that I coded myself step by step.
The problem is that as an extra requirement my teachers have asked if I can port the game to smartphones and control the ship by tilting the smartphone.
I can find some instructions on how to make a brand new mobile game, but I was wondering if there were any existing resources that teach you how to port a game to mobile?

Right now I don’t even know how to test a game on smartphone as a test, so I need to learn both that as well as how to use the tilting controls.

I would like to make it clear that I was an absolute noob at Javascript at the start of this project and my knowledge of the program is still rather basic. Atop of that English is not my first language so my apologies for any errors in this question!

I guess the simplest way to build a native app with Phaser is using PhoneGap Build

To get the orientation of your device use:

function handleOrientation(event) {
  let absolute = event.absolute
  let alpha = event.alpha
  let beta = event.beta
  let gamma = event.gamma

console.log(alpha,beta,gamma)
}

window.addEventListener('deviceorientation', handleOrientation, true)

I just started yesterday to make a Phaser PhoneGap Template. You can download it on Github. It is not finished yet, but works great on Android.

Just put your game code inside /app/www, zip the files inside the app folder and upload it to PhoneGap Build

As example, I have put your deviceorientation example inside /app/www/index.html.

I’ve made a live tutorial on my youtube channel but it’s in french, you can look at the correspondant github repository on my account to see how the code is organised

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsCwMjZXOo4