Making a Phaser Power Tools, a basic toolkit for simple games?

Hello,

I am new to Phaser and I really enjoy it.

Many years ago, when Flash was still a thing, I was using Flixel engine and the awesome Flixel Power Tools, made by Richard Davey, long before he created Phaser. Here how he presented FTP:

Quite frankly flixel is awesome. It allows for very rapid game development. And while it does a lot for you, it is lacking in a few areas. After all it’s just a framework, and frameworks are meant to be built-upon. That is where the Flixel Power Tools come in. They are a set of classes, all neatly arranged in a single package […]. They push flixel just that bit further and cover a lot of fundamental ground for you.

I feel a bit the same about Phaser. It is awesome, but as a framework, it is made to be as lightweight as possible and to be built-upon. I totally understand and support Richard position about keeping Phaser as generic as possible. Phaser includes features that most games need, but won’t go more into details and avoid becoming a monster with so many features that most games won’t need.

But that can make game development a bit painful since you have to start so many things from scratch. There are many tutorials about how to make a platformer but they only show you the first steps. If you want to make something nice, you will have to spend days developping basic features: a character that walk right or left, jump, crawl, hang, climb ladder or whatever, enemies that walk back and forth and that you have to avoid, coin to collect, level entrances and exits, etc. Instead of working on actual game mechanics, you will have to spend so much time reinventing the wheel over and over, even so those basic features are shared by most plateformers.